HBPA Affiliates  
   Latest News   

Purse Increase Announced at Mahoning Valley Race Course

Mahoning Valley Race Course, which is approaching the halfway mark of its 2015 Winter/Spring meet, is increasing their overnight daily purses by more than 5%, beginning with Condition Book #3, which starts Monday, March 2.

Mark Loewe, VP of Ohio Racing for Penn National Gaming stated “We are pleased by the continued positive response our racing product has received, both locally and nationwide. This, along with steady revenue from the Video Lottery Terminal part of our operation, allows us the opportunity to implement this increase.” Loewe added “Our overnight daily purse average will now be approximately $76,000, which puts our median purse at more than $9,500.”

Overnight purses will now range from $5,300-$16,800, compared to the previous range of $5,000-$16,000. Non-stakes races that are restricted to Ohio breds are now worth up to a maximum of $25,800.

The season, which will run through Saturday, April 25, features racing on a four-day-a-week schedule, Monday-Wednesday, and Saturday with a first post of 12:45 p.m. Eastern Time.

Dedicated to Ohio's Thoroughbred Industry

The National HBPA is a non-profit corporation which works to improve the economic health and public acceptance of the Thoroughbred horse industry in the United States and Canada. The HBPA seeks to improve business conditions for Thoroughbred horsemen and their employees, advance the industry in general. Click here to learn more
  Visit Ohio's Race Tracks

Mahoning Valley

Belterra Park



Horsemen's Journal

Home | News | About Us | Officers
Benefits | Calendar | Links | Contact Us

Copyright © 2015 Ohio Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association, Inc.